A civic building in the Federation Academic Classical and Stripped Classical styles, Parliament House was officially opened in 1904 to co-locate the previously separated Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly of the WA Parliament.
Local materials including stone from Donnybrook and Rottnest Island, native Jarrah and Wandoo and locally made clay tiles were utilised. The building has been extended, renovated and improved several times, including completion of the eastern wing in 1964, extension to the southern wing in 1978 and northern extensions in 2004. Interestingly, the sight lines to the river from the House remain protected under planning law. As the centre of government in WA, and one of the city’s most iconic architectural structures we recommend a visit to this incredible building.
Civic building in the Federation Academic Classical and Stripped Classical styles
Harvest Terrace, West Perth
November 2nd Nov, 10am-4pm
Originally 1902 to 1904 with extensions in 1958, 1978 and 2002
Architects: Public Works Department led by architect John Harry Grainger
Red Cat - Hay St/ Parliament Stop 15