36 - Wesley Church
OPENING TIMES: Sunday 12th November 2pm-4pm
ADDRESS: 75 William St, Perth
The history of Wesley Church traces all the way back to the voyage of the “Tranby”, which sailed from Hull, England on 9 September 1829, carrying 37 pioneers bound for the Swan River Colony, arriving in Fremantle on 3 February 1830.
One of the early pioneers, Joseph Hardey, conducted a thanksgiving service on the beach the following Sunday, laying the foundation for the beginning of the Methodist Church in WA. Hardey became the spiritual leader of the group, conducting the first Methodist Service on 6 June 1830 under a jarrah tree on Hay Street. This is commemorated today with a plaque in the
paving in Hay Street Mall.
After four years of open air worship, the Methodists decided to build a permanent chapel. A block of land 40 feet long and 80 feet deep was obtained from James Inkpen in Murray Street for £5. With no minister to guide them, the colonists met the cost of the chapel by offering £2 shares and consequently when the 24ft x 15ft building was opened on 22 June 1834, it was known as the ‘Subscription Chapel’. Joseph Hardey and Henry Trigg were amongst the subscribers.
History of Wesley continued: In June 1866 Rev T. C. Laurence wrote a letter to London saying that they were preparing to erect a new and larger sanctuary.
The foundation stone for the present building was laid by Governor J. S. Hampton on 25 October 1867. A bottle containing the news of the day was deposited in the wall cavity and the Governor was presented with a silver trowel. The foundation stone is now buried under the ‘north’ tower which was added in 1896.
Learn more of the rich history of this historic Perth landmark during Open House Perth 2017.
Guided ( No Booking Required)